Cross Bred Mongrels – Certified Wise

Will this be the last release from a Certified Wise artist on Obese Records or via Obese Distribution? only time will tell i suppose, but I’m willing to go out on a limb and say yes, feel free to proove to me or tell me I’m wrong.  The new album from Adelaide’s Cross Bred Mongrels titled Certified Wise has been produced by DJ Debris who actually used to be a fully fledged Cross Bred Mongrel prior to joining the Hilltop Hoods.  The album looks be another defining point in what i would consider to be the rawer side of the Certified Wise crew and i guess could explain why the credits for State of The Art never mentioned Cross Bred Productions/Studios.

Cross Bred Mongrels - Certified Wise

Cross Bred Mongrels - Certified Wise

Certified Wise
Release date: September 4th, 2009
Distributed by: Obese Records

Track listing:

  1. The Original Mongrels
  2. Hip Hop Life
  3. No Interference
  4. Another Chapter (feat. Mike Lez, Raph AL)
  5. How We Roll (feat. Hons)
  6. Certified Wise (feat. Simplex)
  7. Bomb Shit
  8. Party’s Never Over (feat. Reason)
  9. Average Dope Smoker
  10. Shoplifter
  11. Cross Bred MF’s (feat. Konsyde, Mic Lez)
  12. Killer Combination (feat. Mystro)
  13. The True Underbelly
  14. Open Letter
  15. Record Biz

All tracks produced by: Cross Bred Productions
Scratches: DJ Snair
Lyrics: Flak, Flee

Adelaide’s hip hop legends the Cross Bred Mongrels return to the fold with their latest album, Certified Wise. Named after the famous crew which has bred some of Australia’s most successful and widely known artists, Certified Wise is the crowning achievement for long time Adelaide hip hop figurehead Flak.

In a distinguished career of building hip hop in Adelaide, Flak was responsible for the early development of such luminaries like the Hilltop Hoods and the Funkoars. And now with long time collaborator and partner-in-rhyme Flee, Flak continues the Certified Wise legacy firmly entrenched in the annals of Australian hip hop history.

Produced by DJ Debris (Hilltop Hoods), Certified Wise serves up a feast of slamming beats, smothered with the no-nonsense flow Flak and Flee are known for. Featuring guest collaborations with UK MC Mystro (on “Killer Combination”), TerraFirma’s Simplex (“Certified Wise”), Funkoars’ Hons (on the rolling-through-Adelaide themed “How We Roll”) and Melbourne legend Reason (the historical hip hop-leaning “Party’s Never Over”), Certified Wise is a hard-hitting, no-holds barred assault of classic hip hop infused with elements of jazz, blues, soul, and the right-hook prowess of the Adelaide streets.

Alongside DJ Snair, the Cross Bred Mongrels return to reclaim their rightful throne, inspired and hungry, their title of Australia’s heavyweight kings.