Able – Ice Cream Won’t Save You

On Friday 13th November 2009, we made our way to the Rosemount for a hip hop gig, Able was launching his new 5-Track EP. A great night was had, some great tunes were played and an EP was released.

Able’s new EP Ice Cream Won’t Save You is a must hear release, if you haven’t heard this yet I suggest you get out and have a listen as this is not your normal Australian Hip Hop sound.  There’s a very interesting sound for Hip Hop brewing over here on the west coast of Australia and Able is one of the guys stirring the brew alongside other members of The Community. It’s a sound that i believe is a side effect of Perth having such a diverse electronic musical culture (with a huge helping of breaks & drum n bass),  due to this Able’s production and choice of sound is reminiscent of many different electronic music genres, I even get the feeling his lyrical flow draws influence from hardcore and drum n bass MC’s.

5 tracks, $6.99 on iTunes? In my oppinion that’s a steal, so head to iTunes and grab a copy of Able's new EP Ice Cream Won't Save You today.

Able-Ice Cream Won't Save You

Able-Ice Cream Won't Save You

Following on from the release of his debut album Brains. Pizza. Booze in 2008, Perth based emcee/producer Able has been in the studio working solidly on new material. The result comes in the form Ice Cream Won’t Save You, a five track EP. Ice Cream Won’t Save You shows the maturity and development of an artist who continues to push the boundaries in Australian hip-hop.

Title track Ice Cream combines Able’s master story telling delivery alongside guest vocalist Mathas, from The Community. 2009 WAM Song of the Year nominated Animal draws the EP to a close and is Able at his raw, lyrical best, accompanied by live-drums and violin from members of The Typhoons. Ice Cream Won’t Save You will be out online and in stores through Paper Chain, and distributed via Firestarter.

  1. Ice Cream
  2. Frankenstein
  3. Glitch
  4. The Nut House
  5. Animal